DEPARTMENT OF LITERATURE'S ANNUAL STEWART PRIZE IN POETRY & MILTON SAIER AWARD IN FICTION WRITING COMPETITIONS!

STEWART PRIZE IN POETRY

The Stewart Prize was established in recognition of John L. Stewart, Founding Provost of John Muir College. Professor Stewart was also a Literature professor and his move to UCSD from Dartmouth opened the way for the UCSD/Dartmouth Exchange Program. Among his accomplishments were: overseeing the development of the departments Music and Visual Arts, overseeing the building of Mandeville Auditorium, and performing in The Moldy Figs – an impromptu group of UCSD jazz lovers. The Stewart Prize was originally established in this department for entries in all forms of creative writing, except playwriting. Good writing, whatever the form, was the basis of the award. The competition is now limited to poetry.

APPLICATIONS ARE DUE APRIL 30TH AT NOON! <u>CLICK HERE</u> TO FIND OUT MORE.

MILTON SAIER AWARD IN FICTION WRITING

The Dr. Milton H. Saier, Sr. Memorial Awards Fund was established at UCSD in 1998 to support an annual awards program for the Department of Music, Theatre and Dance, Literature, and Biology. Each year, the Department of Literature is given funds by the Saier family for an award to acknowledge "outstanding creative writing by an undergraduate student to be selected by the Chair of the Department of Literature in consultation with faculty.

APPLICATIONS ARE DUE APRIL 30TH AT NOON! <u>CLICK HERE</u> TO FIND OUT MORE.